Get To Work!

The Apostle Paul tells us in 2 Tim 2:15 (NASB), “Be diligent to present yourself approved to God as a workman who does not need to be ashamed, handling accurately the word of truth.”

I like how some other translations say, “Study to show yourself approved unto God, a workman that need not be ashamed, rightly dividing the word of truth.”

It is my prayer and desire for all Christians to be able to say this is how they live.  Think on Paul’s words.  If we can do this, we’ll truly be world changers.  If you’ve fallen short of his command…get up and keep pressing towards the prize.  We need you in the fight.  We need your testimony.  We need your “life service, not lip service” in promoting the lifestyle Christ has intended.  Do not let discouragement or failures hold you down.  Use those circumstances to help strengthen your will for Christ.

Pause for a quick station break!    Pause For a quick Station Break!

News Flash!                            News Flash!                   News Flash!

The Christian journey is not one that has rose petals on the ground to comfort every step you take.  Nor will every Christian have a Lexus or mounds of money.  If you have those sorts of blessings, praise God.  If you don’t have that blessing, praise God.  In other words, praise Him in all your circumstances.  (Please read Paul’s words in 2 Tim 3:12)

Now back to the regular programmed message.

Remember, we have to be diligent.  This means we have to put the time in.  We have to be dedicated.  We can’t be a drive-by Christian.  I realize you have a great Pastor.  That Pastor gave a wonderful sermon on Sunday.  What are you doing to be diligent in your understanding of the Word on Monday-Saturday?

We must study the word for ourselves. We also must accurately speak (rightly dividing or handling) the word of God.  It is easy to parrot a sermon you heard on the radio.  It’s something entirely different to be able to speak from your knowledge base.  I’m not saying you have to become a Theologian but you need to accurately talk about the bible.  Here’s a personal example.  Many years ago my first real mentor…my uncle Bill passed away.  It hurt deeply. I tried to draw comfort from the biblical teachings that I knew.  After all, I was in and around the church since…well, forever.  I remembered one of those sayings in the bible to help me out.  You know the ones like, “The family that prays together stays together.”  It didn’t bring me any comfort.  Then it dawned on me that I really didn’t know the bible.  I was merely repeating what I heard other people say.  It was not my knowledge.  Rather it was me trying to live by something I never studied or really knew about.  I realized I couldn’t live off someone else’s experience.  Yes, their experience can and did help me but I really needed to know God for myself.  By the way, the quote I just gave you is nice but it’s not in the bible.  I didn’t know it and other nice sayings weren’t in the bible until I started reading the bible.

Don’t be like I was.  “Study to show yourself approved.”   In doing so, you will let your light shine.  This will enable you to bring others into the light of the living God, Jesus the Christ.  In doing all of that, you’ll be a workman that need not be ashamed.  Now get to work…after all, you’re on duty 24/7.

What?  Did you just say that you haven’t studied the bible before?  Did you say you haven’t studied in a little or long while?  Thank you for your honesty, but that was then.  This is now.  Now is the time.  It’s not too late.  You can still be “workman than needs not be ashamed.”

One thought on “Get To Work!

Leave a Reply

