God Is Your Jehovah-Jireh

images-2A few weeks ago we talked about 12 Thing You Can Do To Strengthen your walk with God.  One of the suggestions was to learn about His name.  Today, let’s look at Him being your provider.

God has many names and one of them is Jehovah Jireh.  Your handout shows that Moses first used this term. He was actually talking about a place that he dedicated to God.  For us, we aren’t required to dedicate a place or erect a monument.  However, our lives should be a living monument to God.

God is our provider.  Look at Ps 78:23-29, Ps 54:4-7 and Phil 4:19. These verses show a wide variety of ways God has shown Himself as a Provider for those in need.

God will not necessarily assist you in the same manner as He did for those individuals.  However, you can be assured that He will provide for you.  Take some time out and think how He has blessed you.

Here are two real-life examples that people have said:

“I used to live paycheck-to-paycheck.  I didn’t know how my family and I were going to survive.  Some how a check would mysteriously appear just when we needed it.”

“My marriage was on the brink.  I was tired and I just wanted to give up. My spouse didn’t appreciate me but this individual at work showed a lot of interest in.  I thought that I should spend a little time with the person so that I’d feel appreciated and needed.  But something told me not to.  I gave my marriage one more try and He kept me from having an affair.  Now we have such a wonderful marriage.”

Let’s look two more biblical examples.  At your leisure, read Matt 14:13-21.  This story shows Jesus providing the first free lunch program in history.  He provided for five thousand people.  Many Theologians estimate the numbers could be as high as 15 thousand since the text didn’t mention the women and children.  The story isn’t about providing food.  No, it’s much bigger than that. This story shows that God’s power is unlimited. It shows that God will supply your needs.

In 2 Kings 4:1-7, an old widow was about to lose her sons.  The destitute woman’s creditors were going to take her sons and put them into slavery to get their money back.  The Prophet gave her some simple instructions.  She complied with his instructions.  In other words, she not only listened to the man of God but she also was obedient. There is power in being obedient to the Word of God.  The widow went from a pauper to prosperous in short measure.  This story isn’t about getting rich. It’s about “you” being obedient. It’s about God being your provider.

These stories should provide you with just a glimpse on how God is your provider.  When you are in need, pray to your God…your Jehovah-Jireh.  When you’re not in need…still pray to your Father.

Reflection Points:

God has blessed me:

______________________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________

God has provided:

______________________________________________________________________________

_____________________________________________________________________________

What do I need to do to be a better Christian?

______________________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________

How can I share God to an unbelieving world?

______________________________________________________________________________

_____________________________________________________________________________

I’m pulling for you. I know this can be your best year ever.  Prayerfully, we can learn a lot and transform our lives to look more like Him this year.

Please drop me a line to let me know if what I’m doing is encouraging you.  I’m willing to hear the good and bad.  I want to provide things to uplift but challenge you.

Yves

 

3 thoughts on “God Is Your Jehovah-Jireh

Leave a Reply

