The Next Big Thing

The Next Big Thing is a series of blog posts where authors talk about their work using the same ten questions. At the end of the blog we tag other authors who will do the same thing a week later. So not only do you get to find out more about my book but you also will discover some other interesting writers.

Rosemary “Mamie” Adkins tagged me. Rosemary’s book, Mamie, is not yet available but will be released by Summer 2013. Congratulations Rosemary!

Rosemary “Mamie” Adkins is a talented author that expresses herself with heartfelt experiences that allow you to feel her trials of life growing up with abuse and emotions with every word. She writes from the heart, and uses expressions she gathers from life experiences themselves making each page full of emotions of her abuse, loneliness and fear wanting each word to speak to you reminding you that quitting is never an option. This book was made possible after finding her voice with her first book, Extraordinary Dreams of an Ireland Traveler. This book can be found at: http://www.ExtraordinaryIreland.com. She found it also gave her the strength to complete a difficult book to write, which began over fifteen years ago. To reserve your copy write to RosemaryAdkins@ExtraordinaryIreland.com.

Thank you, Rosemary, for giving me the opportunity to introduce my latest book, Maintaining Your Christianity In The Workplace that is currently scheduled to be released by Summer 2013. Maintaining Your Christianity In The Workplace is a dynamic book that prepares Christians to live out their faith at work. I provide them with strategies to stand strong in their beliefs. I show them how their faith can be beneficial to them and to the workplace. These strategies can be easily adapted for any circumstance.

1. What is the working title of your next book?

My new book Faith & Integrity In The Workforce: Maintaining Your Faith Outside The Church is expected to be completed and released by Fall 2013. I’m also finishing up a commentary and workbook on James and a book on forgiveness.

2. Where did the idea come from for the book?

Two things helped me come up with the idea of the book on Faith and Integrity. First, I’ve found that some Christians struggle with faith and integrity outside the walls of the church. I’m not certain if they fear “not fitting in” or they simply don’t know what God expects of them. Second, I spoke at a National Men’s Conference on this subject. So, I’ve spent a lot of time researching the issue. This book allows me the opportunity to provide the details from my research to all Christians.

3. What genre does your book fall under?

Christian Nonfiction

4. What actors would you choose to play the part of your characters in a movie rendition?

Not applicable

5. What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

Today is the day you walk boldly as a Christian in every aspect of your life.

6. Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

My next book will self-published

7. How long did it take you to write the first draft of the manuscript?

I actually started writing it last year. I was scheduled to speak at a Men’s conference in October so I wanted the book to be available as a resource. However, I didn’t want to rush to publish it.

8. What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

This book, like my first book, doesn’t seem to have a contemporary. In my research, I have found books that talk on but not solely on Faith and Integrity in the workplace. Therefore, I can’t say that I have found anyone to compare it with.

9. Who or what inspired you to write this book?

As a minister I counsel many Christians on their Christian walk. Integrity and faith are two bedrock issues Christians face. I spoke on Integrity for several years while I was in the military. So, I guess you can say that it’s something I enjoy talking about.

10. What else about the book might pique the reader’s interest?

The reader will feel empowered and educated to live a life of integrity and stand firm in their faith.  It will also empower those who aren’t living a Godly life to change their ways.  Both sets of readers will learn ways to deal with these two complex issues.

If you want to discover some other great writers, check these out:

Louise Malbon-Reddix:

http://www.victoryroadwellnesscenter.com/blog/

Clayton Bye:

http://www.claytonbye.com/modules.php?name=Home&op=show&pid=8

All profits from my current book, There Is No Gray In Moral Failure, goes to charity. I’m working with two organizations whose sole efforts are to rescue those caught in the sex industry.

Yves N. Johnson, Author/Speaker/Minister

16 thoughts on “The Next Big Thing

  1. Yves,
    This is a must read book. Our work place is a challenge to fit in and often the spirit in a good soul gets lost. Thank you for writing this new book to help those stay on their path and for joining my blog. Your reply to the ten questions allows so many to know you so much more-What an honor.

  2. Rev. Johnson, This is true. I too as a minister also have found the same. I like to provide a safe space so to speak for persons to share in, in a nonjudgmental way. It is not very long though, in the encounter that they experience that I do hold dearly and tightly to my Christian principles. My motto is the Spirit to Care and the Skill to Help!

  3. Thank you for participating in The Next Big Thing. This has been a wonderful way to get insight into you as a person, writer and your upcoming projects. You have definitely tackled an area in need of ministering.

    Be sure to go to catnip or Awakenings. You have yet another chance for promotion 🙂

  4. This is great, Yves. I tweeted it and posted it in my FB page.
    I am happy to see you addressing this issue. If everyone would act and treat others the way they would if God is present (present in the flesh on earth), we’d walk among a group of saints. What happens is this: people do not believe, so they do not fear.

Leave a Reply

