On Behalf of Christians (An Apology)

This is a good article. However, please remember there is a difference between judging and condemning. We can not and should not run from our responsibilities to live a Godly life. The Apostle Paul encourages us to also admonish our fellow Christians to encourage them to leave their sinful ways. In short, if I tell you that you shouldn’t steal, this isn’t the same as judging. I’ve encountered some well-meaning Christian who say the bible doesn’t tell us to do such a thing. We need each other for strength and encouragement.

Thought Catalog

shutterstock.comshutterstock.com

In today’s society, being a Christian or being associated with Christianity can have a negative connotation. I have been a Christian for fourteen years. Most people who aren’t Christians don’t have a problem with Jesus Christ, but rather with the people who deem themselves Christians. Gandhi said, “I like your Christ, I do not like your Christians. Your Christians are so unlike your Christ.” And unfortunately, this is a completely true statement. There’s only one explanation for this: people are imperfect. We misrepresent, we are flawed, and we make mistakes. Here are a few things for which I’m sorry.

I’m sorry for every time a Christian has judged you or looked down upon you.

I’m sorry for times that we have been hypocritical—preaching one thing and doing another.

I’m sorry for shoving our religion down your throat.

I’m sorry for picking and choosing which parts of the Bible we…

View original post 357 more words

Leave a Reply

