“Light” Walkers

1john-copyThis is the message we have heard from him and declare to you: God is light; in him there is no darkness at all. 1 John 1:5.

God is pure goodness.  We can’t and won’t see a dark side of Him. We can’t walk in darkness and walk with the light of God.  We must strive to “let (our) your light shine before men” (Matt 5:16).  I find that the danger in this is that man will be attracted to our darkness as much as our light.  Since man is inherently evil, he will be drawn towards the darkness. Yet, it is the light of God that we want to shine on man. We want to share the goodness of God to this dark and dreary world.  Only the light of God can expose the evil hidden in the hearts and mind of man. (Eph 5:7-14).

The Apostle Paul wrote in Romans 7:7-14 about his personal struggle with sin.  He provides a word picture for us that shows that evil is present in us.  We want to continue to repent, study, pray and meditate on Scripture.  In doing so, we reduce the darkness and increase the light.

Mahatma Gandhi said, “I like your Christ, I do not like your Christians. Your Christians are so unlike your Christ.”  That’s a sad commentary that plays out too often today.

I hope your light is shinning. If it isn’t, you might be casting a shadow.  God wants you to shine your light.  What is your “wake?”  In this I mean, do you leave destruction everywhere you go?  Or, is everywhere you go better because of your presence?  I certainly hope it’s the latter and not the former.  Either way, start letting your light shine.  This way men and women will be drawn to God because of you.  Let your wake be one that transforms lives by the Gospel.

In His grip

2 thoughts on ““Light” Walkers

  1. As a Christian I have said similar very often. “I like your Christ, I do not like your Christians. Your Christians are so unlike your Christ.”
    My words are usually, “I love Christ, but find it hard to like many Christians (I still love them though)
    Too often Christians focus on a single piece of the Word and forget the rest. They nestle in their comfort zone and ignore the uncomfortable about their Faith. Our Faith. I think we probably all do it from time to time based on our personal convictions that the Holy Spirit has brought to us. I think we forget that a walk with God is a personal walk and he brings each of us in a direction of his choosing.
    Let me proclaim loudly – I am a Sinner. As long as I walk this Earth, I probably will sin and remain a Sinner. If ever I do become Sin Free I am sure he will take me that moment.
    Until then, I will walk the walk he has asked me to take.
    \

    1. Keith, you makes some excellent points. There are several trails we could go down in reference to this subject. Let me share this (short) point. The differing “takes” on Christianity causes some of the problems. Further, some “half-verse” Christians complicate the matter. A half-verse Christian is one who takes only a portion of the Scripture to suit their particular needs. Lets say that you’re a Lutheran and I’m Methodist. Although we are both Christian, the Systematic Theology are different. As such, we’ll act differently on subjects. That’s why I try to stick to the Scripture rather than the dogma of a particular denomination. All that being said, your words holds true. We need to walk the walk He has asked us to take.

Leave a Reply

